When will RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under air in the UK?

RuPaul's Drag Race UK: Lawrence Chaney introduces herself

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

RuPaul’s Drag Race UK recently came to an end, with the US version series wrapping up very soon. Thankfully, there is more Drag Race content for UK fans coming soon to the BBC iPlayer and this time around, Drag Race is heading to Australia and New Zealand. When will RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under air in the UK? Express.co.uk has everything you need ot know.

When will RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under air in the UK?

There is good news for Drag Race, the brand new series of RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under is coming to screens a lot sooner than expected.

RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under will premiere on Sunday, May 2 on the BBC iPlayer.

The first episode will be available from 9am on Sunday morning for fans to start their day with.

There is more good news for fans of Drag Race, the episodes land in the UK in line with the broadcasts in Australia and New Zealand, so there is a lesser chance for spoilers.

Episodes of RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under will air every Sunday, exclusively on iPlayer.

Just like Drag Race UK, there are eight episodes in total and each instalment is an hour long.

To watch RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under, you must have a TV licence.

The iPlayer app also has a download option which means you can watch episodes of Drag Race Down Under on the go. 

Who are the RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under judges?

RuPaul is the face and head judge of RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under.

Mama Ru will be searching for the first Drag Race star from Down Under.

Ru will be joined by Drag Race legend Michelle Visage, who also appears on the US and UK versions of Drag Race.

Also serving as a judge on the panel is Australian comedian Rhys Nicholson.

RuPaul’s A’Whora bursts out of giant padlock in London  [PICTURES]
Michelle Visage songs: Who is Michelle Visage? Which band was she in? [DETAILS]
RuPaul’s Drag Race US: Who is guest judge Cynthia Erivo? [CAST]

Who are the RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under Queens?

Thankfully, the names of the 10 Queens taking part in RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under have been revealed. They are:

  • Anita Wigl’it, 31, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Art Simone, 28, Geelong, Australia
  • Coco Jumbo, 30, Sydney, Australia
  • Elektra Shock, 27, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Etcetera Etcetera, 22, Sydney, Australia
  • JoJo Zaho, 30, Newcastle, Australia
  • Karen from Finance, TBA, Melbourne, Australia
  • Kita Mean, 34, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Maxi Shield, 46, Sydney, Australia
  • Scarlet Adams, TBA, Perth, Australia.

Executive Producers Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato said, “It’s a testament to RuPaul’s determination that we were finally able to film Drag Race Down Under.

“We are thrilled to be continuing our relationship with the BBC to bring the creative queens of Down Under to UK audiences.”

BBC Three’s controller Fiona Campbell added, “Following an incredible series of RuPaul’s Drag Race UK, BBC Three are delighted to be bringing another dose of Drag Race magic to UK audiences in the form of Drag Race Down Under.

“It’s another great opportunity for us to work with World of Wonder and I hope that fans enjoy this first series from Australia and New Zealand.”

UK fans have been sharing their excitement online for the Australia/New Zealand series to land on screens.

Under a post on the Offical Drag Race UK Instagram page announcing the news, one fan commented: “Ru Paul is giving us when we need after covid s***. Thank youuuu.”


A third fan commented: “omg yaaaaaaaaas!!!!”

Drag Race Down Under premeires Sunday, May 2 at 9am on BBC iPlayer.

Source: Read Full Article