What is the ICC World Test Championship, does the England vs India series count towards it and do The Ashes matter? – The Sun

AS every cricket fan knows, you just can't beat Test cricket.

The longest and most absorbing form of the game is the pinnacle for international players – and the ICC have introduced a new format designed to make it even more exciting.

What is the ICC World Test Championship?

THE World Test Championship is the ICC's plan to give Test cricket a competition that can rival those in the one-day game.

Originally planned for 2013 but hit with long delays, the new-look competition is set to take place over nearly two years.

It start in August 2019 and finishes in June 2021, where two teams will contest a grand final.

Here's how the World Test Championship works:

  • The top nine Test playing nations will all compete (Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies).
  • Each team will play three home and three away Test series.
  • Every one of these series will carry a maximum of 120 points.
  • Sides are given 60 points per win in a 2-match series and 24 points for a win in a 5-match series.
  • After each team has played their six series, the points will be added together in a league format.
  • The top two teams will then face off in a final in June 2021.

The second edition of the tournament is scheduled to run from July 2021 to June 2023.

Do The Ashes count towards it?

OLD enemies England and Australia are doing battle once again for the famous urn.

The Aussies are the current holders after a comprehensive victory Down Under in 2017/18 followed up with a tied series in England in 2019.

But England visit Down Under in the winter, but this is AFTER the finals this summer, so only the 2019 series counts.

Who are England going to play?

Home Test series

  • Australia – L
  • West Indies – W
  • Pakistan – W

Away Test series

  • Sri Lanka – W
  • India – On now

Source: Read Full Article