How does F1 point scoring work? How many points do you for a Grand Prix race win?

F1 is one of the most competitive sports in the world, with drivers risking death every week to gain as many points as they can.

Last year saw a thrilling end to the season with both Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen level on points at the top of the standings with just a single race to go.

Verstappen eventually won by the barest of margins, but the race was thrilling right to the very end.

But it can be confusing how the scoring works for each F1 race.

How does F1 point scoring work?

Points are awarded on a sliding scale for a Grand Prix victory, with first place taking 25 points and the rest of the field to 10th place scoring.

  • 1st place – 25 points
  • 2nd – 18 points
  • 3rd – 15 points
  • 4th – 12 points
  • 5th – 10 points
  • 6th – 8 points
  • 7th – 6 points
  • 8th – 4 points
  • 9th – 2 points
  • 10th – 1 point
  • 11-last – 0 points

Are F1 points awarded for the fastest lap?

Yes. One championship point is awarded to the driver with the fastest lap of any Formula One Grand Prix.

But only if they finish in the top 10 positions of a Grand Prix race.

This is to avoid a driver who is at the back of the field giving up on winning a race but hanging back in order to set the fastest lap.

How are points awarded if F1 race is abandoned?

If a race is abandoned before 75 per cent of the distance has been completed all points are halved.

This happened in the 2021 season at the Belgian Grand Prix.

Are championship points awarded in the F1 Sprint Race?

Yes. The F1 Sprint Race is a new format introduced in 2021 for the first time to break the sometimes dull cycle of practice-qualifying-grand prix.

The top three places in a Sprint Race are rewarded as follows:

  • 1st – three points
  • 2nd – two points
  • 3rd – one point

Most read in Motorsport

    Source: Read Full Article