Dimitri Van den Bergh seals first Players Championship title with final win over Dirk van Duijvenbode

Dimitri Van den Bergh has won his first Players Championship title, beating Dirk van Duijvenbode in the final.

The World Matchplay champ withstood a stern challenge from his Dutch opponent, holding his nerve to win the deciding leg and prevail 8-7.

The Dream-Maker burst into a 4-1 lead, but he was pegged back by the ‘Aubergenius’ who levelled it at 5-5. The Belgian then led 7-5, but Van Duijvenbode levelled it once more.

    • Van Duijvenbode claims maiden PDC title
    • Smith claims first title of 2021
    • Incredible De Sousa storms to Players Championship win

    Eventually, Van den Bergh, who currently sits second in the Premier League table, got over the line for his first floor title on the Pro Tour.

    It was an impressive day’s work from the 26-year-old, who hit 100-plus averages in each of his first four matches. That included a 108.8 average in his 6-1 win over Ryan Searle in the last 16.

    π——π—œπ— π—œ 𝗛𝗔𝗦 π——π—’π—‘π—˜ π—œπ—§! πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ

    πŸ† Dimitri Van den Bergh wins his first PDC ProTour title, defeating Dirk van Duijvenbode 8-7 in the final of Players Championship 12! pic.twitter.com/ERs4lUhZau

    Van Duijvenbode was looking for a second consecutive Players Championship win, having secured his maiden PDC ranking title on Monday.

    The World Grand Prix finalist showed his battling qualities throughout the day, edging Robert Thornton in the semi-final.

    Thornton, who is not a PDC Tour Card holder, was competing due to the significant number of absentees in Niedernhausen.

    • Barry Hearn steps down as Matchroom chairman
    • Premier League Darts 2021: Dates, results & fixtures

    Whitlock continues MVG hoodoo

    Simon Whitlock made it four consecutive wins over Michael van Gerwen. The Wizard, who beat the Green Machine at the World Matchplay, Grand Prix and Grand Slam in 2020, got another victory against the three-time world champ.

    The Australian defeated the Dutchman 6-3 in the last 16, but eventually became unstuck against Dirk van Duijvenbode in a whitewash quarter-final defeat.

    Nine-dart Ratajski

    Krzysztof Ratajski recorded a perfect leg in his first-round win over Keane Barry.

    The Polish Eagle trailed 4-5, but broke the Irishman’s throw with visits of 180, 180 and 141 to force a deciding leg. He prevailed and beat Mickey Mansell in the second round before succumbing to Ryan Searle.


    Krzysztof Ratajski hits perfection in his 6-5 win over Keane Barry in round one of Players Championship 12. pic.twitter.com/NRj99U680j

    2021 Players Championship 12 – PDC Super Series 3 Day Four

    Last 16
    Daryl Gurney 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
    Danny Noppert 6-2 Martijn Kleermaker
    Scott Mitchell 6-5 Krzysztof Kciuk
    Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Ryan Searle
    Michael Smith 6-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez
    Robert Thornton 6-3 Ted Evetts
    Simon Whitlock 6-3 Michael van Gerwen
    Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Mike De Decker

    Danny Noppert 6-4 Daryl Gurney
    Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Scott Mitchell
    Robert Thornton 6-3 Michael Smith
    Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-0 Simon Whitlock

    Dimitri Van den Bergh 7-2 Danny Noppert
    Dirk van Duijvenbode 7-4 Robert Thornton

    Dimitri Van den Bergh 8-7 Dirk van Duijvenbode

    Watch full coverage of every night of the Premier League on Sky Sports, and stick with us through the year as we bring you the latest darts news on skysports.com/darts, our app for mobile devices and our Twitter account @skysportsdarts

    Source: Read Full Article